It's All About Stamping

Thinking of Summer…

7 Comments

I’m so glad you decided to join me for Our Creative Corner’s challenge this week!   This week’s challenge is to create a card inspired by what summer means to you.

First thing I think about…strangely enough…is watermelon.  Yep!  I have a memory of extended family gatherings in the summer when grandparents and cousins would come together in southwestern Pennsylvania and the gatherings (of course) would always involve food.  One of those foods was watermelon.  The adults would put the watermelon in the spring house or in the creek to stay cold until we were ready for it.  Sometimes the cousin’s basset hound would lay in the creek near the watermelon with the water running the direction from his behind to his face…strange the things we remember!  This is a long explanation of how I came about creating this card!  So watermelon…red and green to me.  I also think of red & white check tablecloths.   With all that said…I’m all out of creative juice and energy and everything else today so I basically CASEd one of my own cards.  I wanted to use one of the new stamp sets I got yesterday.  Have I said how much I LOVE the new 2010-11 SU Idea Book & Catalog.  I feel like SU simplified so many things which I’ve wanted them to do for years!!  Love it!

Here’s What I Used:
Stampset: Occasional Quotes, Fast & Fabulous
Paper: Garden Green, Riding Hood Red, So Saffron, Wild Wasabi DSP, Whisper White,
Ink: Stazon Jet Black,
Accessories: Reinkers: So Saffron, Riding Hood Red; Garden Green marker, red grosgrain ribbon (retired), Mat Pack/Paper piercer, Playground designer buttons, Eyelet Border punch, Nestabilities,

Play along today and have fun with this challenge! I appreciate you stopping by and for all of you who keep encouraging me! Be sure to check out the rest of the OCC design team creations! There is no time limit on our challenges. Feel free to participate whenever you are able. To play along, upload your creation to your blog or gallery, then leave a comment linking to your project so we can check it out. If you upload to SCS, remember to use keyword: OCCC

7 thoughts on “Thinking of Summer…

  1. Ooh, new goodies!! I didn’t get those flower stamps but I think I will probably cave, LOL. Your coloring is just gorgeous! Pretty color combo too – I am having such a great time pulling out these old In Colors and putting them together! Wonderful card!

    Like

  2. Beautiful color combo and yes, it does bring watermelon to mind. Your card is as luscious as ice cold watermelon would be!

    Like

  3. BEAUTIFUL summer card Wendy!! Watermelon was one of my first thoughts too!

    Like

  4. The So Saffron shadowing behind the bright red flowers looks stunning and does remind me of summer!

    Like

  5. Beautiful!

    Like

  6. What a beautiful summer card Wendy, I LOVE the gorgeous colors, fun use of puches and the fun sentiment!

    Have a fun week, Jennifer 🙂

    Like

  7. I love the colors and composition of your card, the buttons add nice balance and some texture to your lovely card.

    Like

Leave a comment