It's All About Stamping

1-2-3-4 Recipe Challenge

20 Comments

Happy Saturday!  Hope you’re all enjoying a day off work or whatever you do during the rest of the week!  I’m glad you stopped by today.  I have a challenge to share with you.  Kristin Tierney is the hostess for this week and next week’s challenge.  She has challenged us to use this 1-2-3-4 recipe for our projects this week:

1 patterned paper
2 layers not including the card base
3 different stamp images
4 non-paper embellishments

Here’s What I Used:
Stamps: Sweet Summer SAB set, PTI  Blooming Button Bits
Paper: Perfect Plum & DSP, Pear Pizzazz textured, Whisper White,
Ink: Stazon Jet Black, Perfect plum
Accessories: Pear Pizzazz marker, aqua painters, certainly celery 1/4″ grosgrain ribbon, Scallop trim border punch, Spring bouquet flower punch, Pale plum button, embroidery thread, brads, sparkly stickers,

This challenge really gave me a headache for awhile!  I don’t create a card by thinking about what to use on it and so trying to fit all those items in was not fun for me.  However, I know many of you like this kind of a challenge and after all…it is a challenge and suppose to help us get out of our normal rut!  I did o.k. on everything except the embellishment and depending on how you count those I have brads, button, ribbon, thread, and stickers.

Hop on over to see what the rest of the OCC Design Team has created. Everyone is welcome to play along, if you upload to SCS use the keyword OCCC. If you would like to be considered for the ‘Top Talent’ or ‘Talented Trio’ awards you must have your card/project submitted on the OCC blog post by Friday of next week at 11:50 ET. Good Luck! I can’t wait to see what you create this week!

***As many of you have asked about the little flowers, the punch is retired and was last in the fall/winter 2007 catalog.  You can also see them on this post. ***

20 thoughts on “1-2-3-4 Recipe Challenge

  1. Your card is gorgeous, Wendy! I’m a sucker for polka dot and I really love the color combo you used. And I really like the way you made your main panel out of two different papes – nice effect! Such a pretty stamp too. Awesome job on this tough challenge.

    Have a great weekend.

    Hugs,
    Linda

    Like

  2. You did fabulous, Wendy! I love your layout and those adorable little flowers! Great choice for a stamp set & sentiment! I found it to be a bit of a toughie too but in the end I was very happy with the outcome! I think from now on I should try to follow this rule when making cards…..it will be cheaper to mail! LOL Terrific job….I love it! 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m with you…I didn’t realize this would be so hard! Hopefully, my challenge for next week will be easier ;). I LOVED this card when I saw it! It’s perfectly CAS, hard to do when you have to use so many stamps and embellies. CAS is something I have a hard time with, so I am in awe of it! Great job!

    Like

  4. Love this Wendy, the colors, the pretty flowers, (I need to try those), the cute little bird and your fabulous ribbon, button bow!!! It is all adorable!!!!

    Like

  5. Out of all the amazing DT cards, yours is the one I would most like to receive in the mail! The colors are awesome, the flowers are so pretty, and I love your treatment with the ribbon and button. Have a great weekend!

    Like

  6. I think your card is fabulous, Wendy! I love the tiny bird and cute flowers! I’ve been pondering this challenge too, it is not one that comes easily for me either.

    Like

  7. Wendy this is sooo pretty, I think you did a great job on the challenge! I had to chuckle when you said it gave you a headache, I was feeling that way AFTER I got done and took my picture and uploaded to the blog! I guess I thought mats were not a layer (apparently they are!) so my card has to many layers! And it looks like one of my embellishments fell off! Oh well, let’s hope next week will go better! LOL!

    Like

  8. I love the colours you used on this Wendy – and I just got this stamp set, great inspiration to ink it up! I love love the handmade flowers too!

    Like

  9. I love your colors and your CAS card – beautiful job! I have yet to use those stamps myself – you’ve made some lovely cards with it this week. I’m going to have to try those little paper flowers because they are so cool. Fabulous job with the challenge!

    Like

  10. I super love purple and green together! This is gorgeous!

    Like

  11. Your card is beautiful. Love the color combo and especially the little flowers you made. I think they look great.

    Like

  12. Beautiful card. I especially like those little flowers.

    Like

  13. Where do you get that Spring Flower Punch?

    Like

  14. That does sound like quite the challenge…but you rocked it for sure! Love the cute little flowers you created with the punch, and the pretty colors you used.

    Like

  15. so sweet, love the color combination, and the flowers are so pretty!

    Like

  16. Wendy, I love your card! And I think those flowers are the cutest! I’m not a good ‘color-er’ so I am always fasinated by those who color so expertly! Great card!

    Like

  17. Beautiful card!! Love the flowers and the colours are beautiful!!

    Like

  18. This is just beautiful!! I will be featuring this card on My Crafty Picks #7 on 3-13-11. If you wish to decline please email me at trbauer@insightbb.com

    Take care

    Like

  19. So very pretty in its’ simplicity…Just wonderful!

    Like

  20. I absolutely love everything about your card. Love the color combination and the little bird. I’ve been trying to make your flowers. Would you give a little tutorial of how you made these?? Mine just don’t seem to be coming out right. I always need directions to follow. LOL Thanks much …. love following your blog.
    Janette

    Like

Leave a Reply

